3 Buckeyes Make AP All-America Team

On December 17, 2013 by Chris Holloway



Ohio State vs Wisconsin at Ohio Stadium on Saturday, September 28, 2013.

From Eddie George to Chris Spielman to Troy Smith, the brotherhood of Buckeye All-Americans is lengthy and prestigious. We can now add three more names to the list.

Today, the AP All-America team was announced and Linebacker Ryan Shazier was named to the first team. He was the only player from the B1G to be named to the First Team, which means that you can be the best at your position in the country, but not your own conference. 

4824071999_e1c8110e46_zShazier will get more than just the satisfaction that he was named to the All-America team. Because of his listing on the first team, a Buckeye Tree will be planted in Buckeye Grove to commemorate his stellar season. The immortalization is probably one of the highest honors that a Buckeye can receive, as they know that their legacy will live on at Ohio Stadium long after they are gone.

But The Human Quarterback Seeking Missile wasn’t the only one in Scarlet and Gray to be named to the AP All-America teams. Both running back Carlos Hyde as well as offensive lineman Jack Mewhort were named to the Third Team, which is nothing to sniff at. Braxton Miller, the team’s leader and field captain, was left off of the list, as Jameis Winston, Jonathan Football, and AJ McCarron were named to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd teams, respectively. This is not a snub, people. These three were invited to the Heisman Trophy presentation as finalists.

Had Miller played an entire season and had the ability to put up the numbers he should have, he would have gone to New York as well.